Monks chosen as Mayor

With a total of 175 votes James Monks is the new Mayor of Teague.

Election Day was held Saturday, May 5, in the City of Teague City Hall for citizens to decide on who would be mayor of Teague, Alderman Place 1 and Alderman Place 3. Alderman Place 1 was an upset for the incumbent, Melvin Mims, who received 143 total votes to challenger Jerry Ballew’s total of 151. Marie Hertenberger, incumbent Alderman Place 3 was elected to another term with a total of 169 votes beating write-in challenger, Dennis Cox’s total of 106 votes.

Of the 2,712 registered voters in Freestone County, 401 citizens voted.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

The Teague Chronicle

319 Main Street • P.O. Box 631
Teague, Texas 75860
Office: (254) 739-2141
Fax: (254) 739-2144