• Article Image Alt Text

Governor declares disaster in counties affected by Imelda 

AUSTIN — Gov. Greg Abbott on Sept. 19 declared a state of disaster in counties impacted by Tropical Storm Imelda, which first hit the upper Texas Gulf Coast on Sept. 15.  

Counties listed in the declaration include Brazoria, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, Harris, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange and San Jacinto.

The declaration ensures that local officials have access to any state resources they may require to respond.  

The state worked with local officials and emergency personnel in the named counties on problems caused by Imelda’s heavy rains, high winds and catastrophic flooding.

Safety select panel meets

The House Select Committee on Mass Violence Prevention and Community Safety met in the Capitol Sept. 17.  

The panel is assigned to study mass violence, recommend ways to prevent future occurrences, reinforce public safety in Texas and address any shortcomings. Over the next few months, the panel will meet in Amarillo, Dallas, El Paso, Houston and Odessa.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition https://etypeservices.com/Teague%20ChronicleID677/

The Teague Chronicle

319 Main Street • P.O. Box 631
Teague, Texas 75860
Office: (254) 739-2141
Fax: (254) 739-2144