Council Appoints Three EDC Directors

Teague residents Claudine Curry, Woody Woodruff, and Andy Lackey were appointed to the Teague Economic Development Corporation?s Board of Directors by Teague City Council members during action on Tuesday evening, February 18th at City Hall.

The EDC presented four candidates for consideration by the council to fill three empty positions on the seven-member board. Also submitted for consideration but not appointed to the board was Mark Smith. The three new candidates were approved by a 4-0 vote upon a motion by Councilman Ron Rasbeary. Approving the motion were council members Greg Johnson, Marie Hertenberger, Marilyn Michaud, and Rasbeary. The three new EDC members will join Sherri Noland, Randy Hyden, Brandon Whitaker and Tiffany Maggard on the board.

Mayor Pro-Tem Marilyn Michaud presided over the unusually short meeting due to a death in the family of Mayor Earnest Pack. Councilman Chris Nickleberry was also absent.

Council members approved a $3,000 bid from Randy Millender construction to install the ceiling and two interior doors in the evidence room at the Halbert Building on Main Street, which is where the Teague Police Department plans to relocate in the near future.

Council members approved all the steps necessary to hold the May 10th city election, including a motion to hold election as a joint election with the Teague ISD. Appointed as Election Judge was Benny Walker and Alternate Election Judge was Gaylon Hall.

Council members agreed to obtain bids for a new server and updated software for the city?s computer system and also approved a contract with Wilson Janitorial Service in the amount of $1,875 monthly to perform janitorial services for city hall, police department, library, senior center and community center.

Chief of Police Dennis Cox presented the Council with the TPD?s racial profiling report.

Executed 0 SQL queries