Primary Elections Are Tuesday, March 4

A MEMBER OF THE TEAGUE ALUMNI Baseball Team looks for a pitch to hit during the first annual Alumni - Varsity Baseball Fundraiser held at Lion field Monday night. The Varsity boys took it easy on the old guys and came away with an 8-5 victory to stay undefeated this season.

Voters in Freestone County, as well as every county in the State of Texas, will be asked to go to the polls on Tuesday, March 4, 2014, to vote in the Democratic or Republican Party primary election.

Voters will be asked to choose of number of candidates in primary party races ranging all the way from U.S. Senator and Governor to Justice of the Peace and County Party Chairman.

Polls will be open election day from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Winners in each party primary election will face each other in the November general election.

At the county level there are three contested races in the Republican Primary and no contested races in the Democratic Primary.

County voters in the Republican Primary will choose between Linda Jarvis - Incumbent, and Beth Barnes for County Clerk. Due to District Clerk Janet Chapel?s decision not to seek another term in office voters will vote for either Teresa F. Black or LaTonya Jenkins-Willis to fill the vacant position. In Precinct 4, voters will decide for Justice of the Peace between incumbent Shirley Mays and challenger Crystal Rossiaky.

On the Democratic ballot at the local level, only Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace. Beth Ireland filed for election. She will face Republican challenger Cinnamon Archibald in the November General Election.

Republicans getting a free ride on the county level this election are JP Precinct 1 Theresa Farris ? Incumbent; JP Precinct 2 Debra L. Hamilton ? Incumbent; JP Precinct 3 candidate Cinnamon Archibald; Commissioner Pct. 2 ? Craig Oakes ? Incumbent; Commissioner Pct. 4 ? Clyde Ridge Jr. ? Incumbent; County Judge ? Linda K. Grant ? Incumbent; and County Treasurer ? Kay Taylor ? Incumbent.

United States Senator incumbent John Cornyn will be running against Curt Cleaver, Linda Vega, Dwayne Stovall, Reid Reasor, Steve Stockman, Chris Mapp and Ken Cope in the March 4th primary election. The winner of the Republican candidates will face one of the Democratic candidates in the November General Election. Democratic candidates for United States Senator are Harry Kim, Maxey Marie Scherr, Michael ?Fjet? Fjetland, Kesha Rogers, and David M. Alameel.

United States Representative Bill Flores is running unopposed for District 17 in the primary election, however he will be running against unopposed Democratic candidate, Nick Haynes in the November General Election.

Throwing their hat into the ring to replace Governor Rick Perry are Republican candidates Lisa Fritsch, Miriam Martinez, Secede Kilgore, and current Lt. Governor Greg Abbott. Democratic candidates for Governor are Wendy R. Davis and Reynaldo ?Ray? Madrigal.

Looking to take the open Lt. Governor position are Republicans Dan Patrick, Todd Staples, David Dewhurst and Jerry Patterson. Leticia Van de Putte is running unopposed on the Democratic ticket for Lt. Governor.

Running for Attorney General are Republican candidates Ken Paxton, Barry Smitherman and Dan Branch. Running unopposed for Attorney General is Democratic candidate, Sam Houston.

Republicans Harvey Hilderbran, Debra Medina, Raul Torres and Glenn Hegar are vying for the position of Comptroller of Public Accounts and will be running against Democrat Mike Collier in the November General Election

Running for Commissioner of the General Land Office are Republican candidates George P. Bush and David Watts. Running unopposed on the Democratic Primary ballot is John Cook.

Republican candidates for the position of Commissioner of Agriculture are Eric Opiela, Sid Miller, Tommy Merritt, Joe Cotten and J. Allen Carnes. Democratic candidates in the primary are Richard ?Kinky? Friedman, Jim Hogan, and Hugh Asa Fitzsimons.

Running for Railroad Commissioner are Republicans Ryan Sitton, Wayne Christian, Becky Berger and Malachi Boyuls. Democratic candidates are Dale Henry and Steve Brown. Running unopposed on the Democratic ballot is William Moody.

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court on the Republican ticket will be either Nathan Hacht or Robert Talton. Running unopposed on the Democratic ballot is William Moody.

Running in the Places open for Justice of the Supreme Court are:

Place 6, Joe Pool and Jeff Brown; Place 7, Jeff Boyd (uncontested); Place 8, Phil Johnson and Sharon McCally.

On the ballot for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3 are Barbara Walther vs. Bert Richardson and Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4 are Richard Dean Davis, Kevin Patrick Yeary and Jani Jo Wood, and Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9 are W.C. ?Bud? Kirkendall and David Newell.

For State Senator, District 5, Charles Schwertner is running unopposed and State Representative; District 8 candidates are Byron Cook, Bobby Vickery and Charles E. Morgan.

For Justice, 10th Court of Appeals District, Place 2, Rex Davis is unopposed.

District Judge, 87th Judicial District running unopposed is Deborah Oakes Evans.

Republican Party Referendums to be voted on are as follows:

Religious Freedom: Texans should be free to express their religious beliefs, including prayer in public places.

Second Amendment: Texas should support Second Amendment liberties by expanding locations where concealed handgun license-holders may legally carry.

Franchise Tax: Texas should abolish the state franchise tax, also known as the margins tax, to encourage business growth.

Welfare Reform: Texas recipients of taxpayer-funded public assistance should be subject to random drug testing as a condition of receiving benefits.

No Lawmaker Exceptions: All elected officials and their staff should be subject to the same laws, rules, regulations, and ordinances as their constituents.

Obamacare: The Affordable Care Act, also known as ?Obamacare,? should be repealed.

Running on the Democratic ballot for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6 is Lawrence Edward Meyers and Justice , Supreme Court, Place 7 is Gina Benavides.

The Democratic candidate for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3 is John Granberh.

Democrat Joel Shapiro is running unopposed for State Senator, District 5 in the Primary Election.

Running for Commissioner of Agriculture are Richard ?Kinky? Friedman, Jim Hogan, and Hugh Asa Fitzsimons.

Dale Henry and Steve Brown are vying for Railroad Commissioner on the Democratic primary ticket.

Running unopposed for Chief Justice, Supreme Court is William Moody and running unopposed for Justice, Supreme Court, Place 6, is Lawrence Edward Meyers and Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7 is Gina Benavides.

On the ballot for Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3 is John Granberg.

Joel Shapiro is on the ballot, unopposed, for State Senator, District 5.

Democratic Party Referendums are as follows:

On Immigration Reform: The United States Congress must pass immigration reform; including an earned path to citizenship for those individuals contributing to the economy and the dependents of those individuals.

Living Wage for all Texans: Congress should pass legislation rising the federal minimum wage to at least 110 percent of the federal poverty level for a family of four without exception.

Executed 0 SQL queries