Contested Races Develop For May 11

RANCHO NUEVO RESTAURANT in Teague received help from the Teague Economic Development Corporation in the amount of $5,000.00 to pay for their new sign. Awarding the check to Felix Carrillo (second from right), owner of Rancho Nuevo, are members of the EDC Board (l to r) Sherrie Noland, Garlan Steed, Vince DiMaggio, the new EDC Director Brienne Ashmore Van de Way, Pastor Alan Van Hooser, Clint Skinner, and Randy Hyden.

Candidate filings in the May 11th elections for the Teague City Council and the Teague ISD School Board ended last Friday, March 1st, with contested races in both elections.

Throwing their hat into the ring for Teague City Council are Place 2 are incumbent Marie Hertenberger and challenger Ron Rasbeary; in Place 4, incumbent Chris Nickleberry is running unopposed; and in Place 5, there will be a 3-way race between Willie (Beasley) Keener, Jr., Monte Shane Doty, and Marilyn Michaud. Place 5 incumbent Terry Gibson is not seeking re-election to the council. City council members are elected to two-year terms.

In the Teague ISD Board of Trustees election, voters will be asked to fill two positions on the school board currently held by Brian Bowers and Jeff Gonzales. In Place 4, incumbent Jeff Gonzalez is unopposed and Place 2 incumbent Brian Bowers is being challenged by Terry Gibson. School board members serve three year terms.

City council and school board positions with terms expiring in both Fairfield and Wortham will also be filled during the upcoming May 11th elections.

The Fairfield City Council will hold an election with three positions to be filled. Incumbents Linda York Fryer, Place 4 and Kenneth Hughes, Place 6, are unopposed. Place 5 incumbent Donna Tyus is challenged by Jerry Don Sanders.

Fairfield Independent School District has three openings on the school board which are all unopposed so there will be no election. Filling the places on the board will be incumbents LaCharles Bass and Tracie Ezell and newcomer Kim Whitaker.

The only contested race in Wortham is for the Mayor?s position between Rodney Price and Charles (Butch) Davis. Incumbent Mayor Kelly Craig is not seeking re-election. Wortham City Council members Cliff Nesmith and Mindy McGlone are running unopposed in the election.

The Wortham Independent School District has two School Board openings with Brent Jones running unopposed for Place 3 and Sam Wright, Scott Batts and Billy Perez seeking Place 4 on the board.

Early voting by personal appearance in the May 11th elections will run April 29th through May 7th.

Executed 0 SQL queries