Wilbur H. Bailey VFW Voice Of Democracy

The Wilbur H Bailey VFW Post 5872 held their annual Voice of Democracy Banquet on Thursday, January 24, 2013. Winner of the Overall Best Essay was Morgan Prihoda of Fairfield. Miss Prihoda spoke at the banquet and read her essay.

Placing in the contest for Fairfield were 1st place ? Morgan Prihoda; 2nd place ? Clayton Stone; 3rd place ? Brooke Johnson. Others participating from Fairfield were Cairlynn Stone, Ryan Knight and Rachel Theisen.

From Teague, taking 1st place was Karim Hussain; 2nd place was Rebekah J. Havens; and 3rd place was Abby Hurst. Also participating from Teague were Jerry Jones, Haley Tinsley, Austin Skinner, Meg Taylor, Hannah Dimiceli, Will VanWinkle. Alie Watson.

Taking 1st place for Wortham was Sara Ann Sessions.

The VFW Post always names a teacher of the year and for 2013 the teacher of the year was Daniel Phillips who is now teaching in Fairfield. Prior to Fairfield he was a teacher in Wortham.

The Wilbur H. Bailey VFW Post has always taken pride in our police officers in Freestone County and awards a Policeperson of the Year annually. This year the Fairfield Policeperson of the Year is Kristy Lawrence. Wortham?s Policeperson of the Year is Lt. Chris Crowley.

Just as proud of the Freestone County Firemen, the VFW Post 5872 names a Fireperson of the Year at each banquet. This year the Streetman Fireperson of the year is Robert Cocherell. The Teague Fireperson of the Year is Matt Robinson.

In Kirvin the Fireperson of the Year is Miles Price, Jr. and in Butler Hollis Daniel received honors as Fireperson of the Year. Southern Oaks Fireperson of the Year was awarded to Don Collins and Bill Droze. Ricky Ridge is the Wortham Fireperson of the Year. Dew Fireperson of the Year is Jerry Coker and Donie Fireperson of the Year is Joyce Gonzales. Ashley Cocherell was awarded the Fairfield Fireperson of the Year.

Medic of the Year is awarded to our Emergency Medical Services professionals and this year for Teague Linda Calame received the honors for Teague and Jeffery Price was the Medic of the Year for Fairfield.

In the Sheriff?s Department Rich Howerton was named Officer of the Year.

In the Patriot Pen Division of the essay contest, in Fairfield the 1st place went to Britain R. Bossier; 2nd place to Brittani N. Oglesbee and 3rd place to Sarah G. Richmond. Also participating was Spencer Fair, Grant Hubert, Owen Awalt, Claire Partain, Pamela N. Henderson, Jamie L Wilkinson, and JoAnn A. Zamora.

In the Teague Division Eva Chandler took 1st place; 2nd place was Donivan Young; and 3rd place was E.J. Salazar. Other Teague participants were Austin Taylor, Makenzie Aldrich and Grayson Myers.

Wortham Patriot Pen winners were 1st place, Ryan McDaniels who also took 2nd place in District. Sunny R. Leger took 2nd place and Anna Massavella was 3rd place winner.

In Dew School Cooper L. Blackwell won 1st place and also took 1st place in District. Taking 2nd place was Dylan Angel and Jordan F. McElroy won 3rd place. Others participating from Dew was Marissa Evans, Caleb Robbins, Blake Cooley, Keely M. Clark, Jennifer R. Long, Felicaia Ivy, Lou D. Massey, Rachel N. Chavers, Evan J. Johnson, Harley A. Wood, Jared A. Robbins, and Dustin Angel.

As every year the Wilbur H. Bailey VFW Post 5872 have outdone themselves again this year with a great program and meal.

Executed 0 SQL queries